Outfit of the Day: Wandering Writer

Today’s outfit was inspired by the writer who wanders aimlessly through streets filled with potential characters and is often haunted by them. The pencil heels pull everything together creating a quirky yet classy look. This is perfect for ladies that just started a new job but want to keep some kitsch in their everyday outfit.

WanderingWriter

I started putting this together by deciding on a color palette. I figured green is a good color to transition from summer to autumn and I’ve always loved pink and green together (watermelons, I guess). I chose this kelly green blouse from Banana Republic. Nothing really special about it but I like how it’s over-sized because it gives the outfit a relaxed and effortless feel. Next were shoes. A pair of heels with a hint of green were ideal. I remembered seeing these Doodlez by Taylor Says. They are limited edition and I unfortunately saved $150 a little too late and they’re now long gone in my size. They also have a Sharpie inspired pair!

taylorsays4taylorsays3

For a bag, I searched for small pink ones. I was tempted to pick a novelty purse but I knew the focal point had to be the shoes so I went with this simple Rosetti Taylor Majestic mini crossbody. I’m obsessed with small bags and I truly hate having to carry a bulky one around. The perfect purse should only have space for your ID, credit cards, lipstick, compact mirror, phone and keys. Carrying a small purse will prevent you from wanting to stuff it with unnecessary things. We all know you can’t read that 800 page award-winning novel in peace with a toddler screaming just seven feet away from you. You never brush your hair so why bring that huge brush with you? And that lint roller? Why would you wear black pants to walk your neighbor’s dogs anyway?

Speaking of black pants, any high waisted black jeans is a great classic piece of clothing every girl should have in her closet. They can go from casual to work casual in just a few steps (these steps involve changing your top and maybe shoes).

White sunglasses look great with this combo and I’ve seen some at accessories stores like Claire’s being sold for less than $10! Another must-have? I’d say so! Pair them with yellow dangle earrings or simple studs with a hint of yellow in them to draw attention to your face. A tiny pop of color at top that matches your shoes will make your outfit look balanced and well-thought-out.

I hope you’re no longer afraid to wear novelty shoes! Write these tips down and rock that outfit!

One thought on “Outfit of the Day: Wandering Writer

  1. love these! i just wore some novelty shoes on my last post if you want to check it out 😉
    theartorialcoquette.com
    instagram: the_ch1ara

Leave a comment